November 2022

Ioannis Koromilas crowned winner of Construction News Workforce award

Photo credit: Construction News

Ioannis Koromilas was announced as the deserving winner of the Graduate of the Year category at the 2022 Construction News Workforce Awards.

In a prestigious ceremony held at Grosvenor House Hotel, London on Tuesday 8 November 2022, organisations from across the construction industry were honoured across 18 categories in a night of recognition.

The awards celebrate the people striving to make construction a more inclusive industry, as well the businesses doing outstanding work to improve the construction industry’s reputation and employment practices.

Following a rigorous judging process conducted by HR, equality and diversity and organisational development leaders from inside and outside the industry, Ioannis Koromilas emerged as the winner of Graduate of the Year for their work on the design of the Colne Valley Viaduct and the digital solutions he has proposed to Rendel’s Operations Board, he is also an active volunteer promoting the value of ethics, diversity, and integration. He is a member of ALIGN’s Cultural Committee and represents ALIGN-D in workshops to define the main cultural behaviour of the project and a strategy to improve them. 

The judges praised Ioannis for his commitment to mentoring trainee graduates; his innovation on the HS2 C1 Colne Valley Viaduct project and the design of automated engineering methods; as well as his voluntary work as a STEM ambassador.

Construction News editor, Colin Marrs said:

“The CN Workforce Awards celebrate the people and organisations who make construction such a great industry to work in. Our award winners are making a difference every day in areas including physical and mental health, improving diversity and inclusion, closing unfair pay gaps, and becoming more socially responsible.

“This industry would be nothing without the people who work in it. Our awards reward those who are finding better ways of working to deliver the society of tomorrow. We salute the winners and thank them for their innovation and leadership.”